Museum logo
Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Object Name Placemat
Caption National Guard Armory & Company B 135th Infantry
Scope & Content Large folio sheet printed by the American Legion Post 96 showing a photo of the National Guard Armory, home of Company B, a brief historical record of the 135th Infantry Regiment with firsts, shield, and battle honors, insignia of the 34th infantry (Red Bull) Division, and listing of the WWII members of Company B.
Officers: Capt. Axel Jensen, 1st Lieut. Amos Churchill, 2nd Lieut. Maurice Murphy. Sergeants: Aaron Taylor, Earl Chancellor, Arnold Klawitter, Eiler Peterson, Hugo Prieve, Ferdinand Roepke, Floyd Taylor, Herbert Berg. Corporals: Floyd Anderson, Vernon Anderson, Leslie Amundson, Robert Blume, Gilbert Boldt, Virgil Chapek, Roy Krasean, Arnold Oleson, Hugo Saar, Kenneth Zajicek, Luallen Baysinger. First Class Privates: Russell Carlson, John Caspers, Harvey Dvorak, Theophil Grunewaldt, Garfield Krasean, James Lamb, Melvin Lampke, Leonard Lerberg, Laurance Pullen, Richard Pullen, Darrel Schmidt, Joseph Swetland, Clarence Treumer, Clarence Veenhuis, James Wall, Joseph Galati. Privates: Benjamin Bipes, Dale Bonde, Delbert Bitzer, Myron Carrigan, Donald Caspers, John Chancellor, George Christensen, Edmond Dummer, Sidney Falconer, Lester Fleischer, Harry Grabow, Marvin Hackbarth, Milburn Henke, Forrest Hempel, Edwin Hlavka, Thomas Holmes, Melvin Jacobson, Harry Jorgenson, Ralph Kerr, Edwin Klawitter, Glenn Kring, LeRoy Lhotka, Clinton Lockert, Arnold Luedtke, Elvis McGraw, Robert Miller, Stanley O'Keefe, Gayle Phillips, Lehr Pope, Donald Pope, Virgil Prieve, Kenneth Rathbun, Donald Rethlake, Sylvester Rethlake, Clarence Sandman, William Sandman, Vernon Swigart, Chester Ortloff, Nelson Trent, Francis Wall, Jerome Walters, Loren Asklund, Stanley Bach, Kenneth Bonniwell, Joseph Davy, Erwin Homan, Frank Janousek, Elmer Kietzman, Melvin Lewerenz, Ansel Luoma, Daniel Ondracek, Henry Nelson, Charles Paulk, Earl Nuwash, Carlis Pederson, Roland Rettig, Warren Schott, Milton Stoll, Hubert Reimer, Harvey Seeley, Kenneth Tabberson, Thomas Conrin, James Decker, Nicholas Decker, Michael Conrin, David Demenge, Jerome Jorgenson.

The Armory was constructed in 1924 on two lots, donated by W.E. Harrington.
It had a seating capacity of 1200-1500, a substantial stage, four dressing rooms for actors, meeting rooms, officers' quarters, and a basement rifle range.

The Armory hosted military drills, plays, sporting events, dances, roller skating, a senior center, funerals, banquets, a thrift shop, temporary public school classrooms, and more. It was demolished in 1983.

In 1975 the National Guard moved to a new armory at 122 Adams Street Southeast.
Catalog Number 2005-0109-001
Search Terms 135th Infantry, Company B
Red Bull Division
World War II
Hutchinson, Minnesota National Guard Armory
National Guard Armory, Hutchinson
Company B, 135th Infantry
Coats of Arms
135th Infantry, 34th Division (Red Bull), Company B
Subjects World War II
Coats of arms